RSS

Firefox Has Lost My Support!

15 Aug

I hate to say this, but after many years of using Firefox, I have deicided that I am now going to stop using it and find a new web browser.  First, let me say that I think that Firefox is still a great product.  It far exceeds Internet Explorer in my opinion due to its advanced features and controls.  But Mozilla (the developers for Firefox) have decided to go on a six-week development cycle.  And that is not six weeks between minor updates…they are going to be releasing new MAJOR version every six weeks. Firefox 6 Now Available

This is a huge mistake in my opinion.  One of the greatest things about Firefox is the Add-ons that can be used with it.  With a six-week life cycle, the developers of those Add-ons will not be able to keep up.  Not too mention the amount of bugs that will be introduced and not properly corrected and during each cycle. I personally think this is a bit too aggressive for a development cycle.

[UPDATE] I have found some references that these are not actually major updates…just that Mozilla is not using a standard convention of software numbering. Typically when you do a small update to fix a bug or add a minor feature, you increament the software number by a decimal point, so from 4.0 to 4.1, to 4.2, etc. You only increment the first digit if you rewrite the code enough that it is no longer compatiable with previous versions. It seems mozilla is not going to follow that convention and will instead just increase the first number each time. Either way, it does not affect my decision to move away from Firefox [END UPDATE]

No matter how you look at it, the last couple version of Firefox have been falling short of my expectations anyway. It seems to be getting slower, fewer and fewer Add-ons are available, and the overall experience has decreased with layout changes and features added that aren’t really necessary. So I am looking for a new web browser. I’ll throw out that I am not an Internet Eplorer fan, so that browser is right out. The same goes for Google Chrome. Except for Google’s search page, I don’t support them as well. They are almost as bad as Facebook and Apple when it comes to Customer Service and listening to what the customer truly wants.

For the moment, I am currently testing a browser called SlimBrowser (Slim Browser Home Page). It seems to have been around a while but I have never heard of it. It has some really cool features and some advanced options I had never really thought I might use. But reading through the basic help files, the FAQ, and the online forums…this looks like a contender for my new support.

Finally, if anyone has any other suggestions, please let me know. Thanks.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in Rantings

 

One response to “Firefox Has Lost My Support!

  1. John Beckwith

    August 15, 2011 at 22:20

    I will have to check out slim. Must admit, I am a chrome fan, but that might just me my natural laziness and drinking habit.

     

Leave a Reply

 
