RSS

Highway Rubberneckers Need To Be Shot!

16 Aug

OK…this is a rant if I ever saw one. I just had to get this off my chest. For those of you that don’t know, I travel I-4 into Tampa each morning for work and also home each night. My normal trip is about 30-40 minutes. There is a section of the highway near McIntosh Rd where the traffic always seems to back up, usually for no apparent reason.

So yesterday, my ride home took a little over an hour becuase there was an accident. Now, I am travelling east. The accident was on the right shoulder of the west-bound lanes; that is the far shoulder of the other side of the highway from me. Sitting on the shoulder is one state troooper vehicle. In the grass is a commercial van that looks like it rolled once or twice but was upright on its tires. No other emergency vehicles, nobody milling around. The cop was in his car and the driver of the van was sitting in the front seat of the van. That’s it.

This causes a 7-mile backup on my side of the road. WHY? The other side of the road only had about a half mile backup. It just doesn’t make any sense.

So this morning on the way to work, there is another accident. This one was a bit worse, involving two smaller cars and a semi. One car was partially under the truck. Not a pretty picture. Again, there was one cop car, two tow trucks and a couple other vehicle parked on the shoulder. And this accident caused a 6-mile 45-minute backup. All because everyone has to slow down and look.

I understand you need to slow down, for safety reasons. I understand that human nature makes us curious so we want to look. But dammit, there is nothing you can do (unless your a doctor, EMT, or other certified rescue personnel) so just slow down for safety and drive on. YOU DO NOT NEED TO STOP ON THE HIGHWAY! Many times, this just causes more accidents anyway.

Long story short: Rubberneckers are idiots!

Let me repeat that: Rubberneckers are idiots!

Once more: RUBBERNECKERS ARE IDIOTS!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 16, 2011 in Rantings

 

Leave a Reply

 
